Fun With Embroidery – Little Fruit Stuffies!

I love being creative with embroidery!  I was shopping  for a child’s first birthday gift when I remembered how much my children loved playing with those little plastic fruit sets that came with a shopping basket. I decided I wanted to make some fruit stuffies with little faces and a shopping bag to put them in.

I started with some fruit appliqué patterns, using Embrilliance Essentials and Enthusiast I added faces, and then turned the patterns into in-the-hoop projects.  What fun it was to create expressions for each fruit. I made each piece of fruit in a 4×4 hoop – leaving a small opening for adding stuffing.  After I stitched them (in an appropriate color fleece) it was easy to stuff each and hand stitch the small opening closed – no other sewing was needed.

I made a little bag with some heavy mesh and added an appliqué label.


I’m pretty happy with how these came out! This little set can be used to learn the names of the fruit, colors, and even counting.  They are the perfect size for little hands.  I sure hope the little guy I made this set for has a lot of fun with it!

Leave a comment